Students Honored

Dr. Perkoski and Courtney Machi

"BSIS Program Chair Robert Perkoski and Courtney Machi,
winner of the Ida M. Flynn Memorial Award"

Each year, the School and the SIS Alumni Society offer a number of awards to recognize the outstanding academic and service contributions of our students. These outstanding students, nominated by faculty from all degree programs, were lauded at the April 29th Recognition Ceremony for their academic accomplishments, leadership, and efforts to improve the academic programs or community life for students.

SIS is pleased to announce the following 2007 Student Awards. Congratulations and continued success to all!

The Jay Daily Award
For outstanding contributions to the graduate programs in Library & Information Science
Sara Gillespie, MLIS, for her work with the Student Chapter of the American Library Association (SCALA)
Vonzell Yeager, MLIS, for his work with the Student Chapter of the American Library Association (SCALA)

The Anthony Debons Award
For outstanding contributions to the Bachelor of Science in Information Science Program
Matthew Mendik, BSIS, for his Independent Study research on human factors that govern the design of computer portals.

The Fritz Froehlich Award
For outstanding contributions to the graduate program in Telecommunications
Kuang-chiu (Kevin) Huang, PhD in Telecommunications, for his efforts to develop labs to support teaching, his assistance in organizing conferences, and his endeavors to streamline and improve the operations of the Telecommunications labs. 

The Allen Kent Award
For outstanding contributions to the graduate programs in Information Science
Jeff Kaminski, MSIS, for his exemplary class work and his Independent Study research completed with Dr. Brusilovsky and Dr. Flynn. 

The Margaret Mary "Peg" Corbett Award
In recognition of the dissertation proposal judged to be the best submitted in the Library and Information Science Program
Fei Yu, PhD, Library and Information Science “Users’ Emotional and Material Satisfaction at the Micro/Macro Levels in an Academic Library”

The Robert R. Korfhage Award
In recognition of excellence in writing a scholarly paper on information retrieval or a related topic by a student in collaboration with a faculty member
Chih-Kuang Lin, PhD in Telecommunications
For his paper “Efficient Hybrid Channel Access for Data Intensive Sensor Networks” co-authored with Vladimir Zadorozhny and Prashant Krishnamurthy.

The Harold Lancour Award for Excellence in International and Comparative Study
In recognition of academic and scholarly accomplishments in international library and information science
Abdulnasir T. Abdulla, PhD in Library & Information Science
For his dissertation on the information-seeking behaviors of Kuwaiti journalists entitled “Technology and Internet-Related Information Behaviors of Print Journalists in Kuwait.”

The Catherine Ofiesh Orner Award
In recognition of excellence in writing a scholarly paper in information science
Rachel Masilamani, MLIS
For her paper “Documenting Illegal Art:  Collaborative Software, Online Environments and New York City’s 1970s and 1980s Graffiti Art Movement.”

The Sarah C. Cohen Award for the Outstanding School Library Certification Program Practicum Student
Timothy Howard, MLIS
For exemplifying outstanding achievement and professional promise during his practicum experience.

School Library Certification Program Student Awards
Offered to SLCP students, nominated by the Library & Information Science Program faculty, who exemplify academic excellence and professional promise as school librarians
Winner:  Bridget Berlardi
Finalists:  Karin Kugel, Elizabeth Koch, Tina Tomczak, Lynn Smokovich, Micah Weglinski

The Jennifer & Eric Spiegel Technology and Communications Essay Award
Mitchell Soso, Arts & Sciences
In recognition for his winning essay entitled “Apple vs. Microsoft:  A Look at Usability and Accessibility”

The Ida M. Flynn Memorial Award
Courtney Machi, BSIS
In recognition of excellence and outstanding contributions to the undergraduate program in information science. 
In particular, Courtney was selected for this award for her work in re-invigorating the undergraduate Information Science student association and for her efforts at promoting the undergraduate program.