News / iSchool recognizes 2010-2011 graduates


The School of Information Sciences was pleased to host a Recognition Ceremony for graduating students on Sunday, May 1, 2011. The event took place at Alumni Hall on the University of Pittsburgh campus. The iSchool ceremony recognized all of those students who graduated from June 2010 through April 2011. Dean Ronald L. Larsen presided over the iSchool event; the keynote address was given by Kenneth J. Spangler, (BSIS ’88), Senior Vice President, Information Technology, FedEx Services.
Dean Larsen welcomed the graduating students to a community of more than 12,000 alumni of the school and reminded them of accomplishments which took place at the iSchool over the previous year.  Mr. Spangler noted that graduation is not just an ending…it’s also the beginning of the next step in the student’s professional lives.

Each graduating student had the opportunity to ascend to their stage, to have their name read, and to be congratulated by the Dean. In addition, those receiving their PhD degree were escorted by their advisor. The list of students who have registered for graduation in this time frame is here.

Each year, there are several student awards presented at the Recognition Ceremony. The School and its Alumni Society offer awards to recognize the academic and service excellence of several students; each winner is given a monetary award and a certificate. The students receiving the various awards are selected through faculty nomination or by a selection panel based on work students submitted for consideration. The recognized students include:

Margaret Mary Corbett Memorial Award — Joel Blanco, PhD, LIS
Anthony Debons Award — Travis Stem, BSIS
Ida Flynn Award — Meredith Moriarity, BSIS
Fritz Froehlich Award — Saman Taghavi Zargar, PhD, Tele
Allen Kent Award – Sharon (I-Han) Hsiao, PhD, GIST
Lancour, Immroth, Brewster Award — Joel Blanco, PhD, LIS
The Ofiesh Orner Award — Steven Nunnally, MSIS
The Jennifer & Eric Spiegel Technology & Communications Essay  Award — Veronica Hunt, BSIS
Tung-Li and Hui-Hsi Yuan Family Scholarship — Zhen Yue, MLIS
The SLCP Student Award Finalists — Kristen Huth, Mindi Maneck, Rachel Nard, and Sara Payne
The SLCP Award Winner — Patricia McNeill, MLIS
Sara C. Cohen Award — Samuel Guarino, MLIS

You can enjoy part of the ceremony and reception here.