News / Four iSchool students win ALA’s Spectrum Scholarships


The American Library Association (ALA) has announced the 2010 Spectrum Scholarship winners, four from the School of Information Sciences.  The Spectrum Scholarships are offered to American Indian/Alaska Native, Asian, Black/African American, Hispanic/Latino and Native Hawaiian/Other Pacific Islander students pursuing graduate degrees in library and information studies. ALA states that the goal of the Spectrum Scholars Program “is to improve service at the local level through the development of a representative workforce that reflects the communities served by all libraries.” The iSchool is pleased to note that four MLIS students will receive the prestigious awards: Ameerah Al-Mateen, Amiya Hutson, Sherry Cuadrado and LaMonica Wiggi.  Cuadrado and Wiggi will enroll for the first time in Fall 2010. The iSchool has hosted more than 16 Spectrum Scholars since 2004.