News / iSchool recognizes recent graduates, Student Award Winners


On Sunday, May 2, the iSchool hosted a Recognition Ceremony for recent graduates at Alumni Hall, honoring those who earned a degree from June 2009 through April 2010. More than 500 graduates, family members, friends, faculty and staff participated in the event, which served to augment the University’s commencement exercises and which allowed the iSchool to honor the graduating students personally. The 400+ students who graduated during this time period were welcomed to the Information Professions and to the family of iSchool alumni, more than 13,000 strong. The Keynote Address was given by Leona Mitchell (A&S '80, MSIS '81), Vice President of Sales at Mainline Information Systems. Leona has over 28 years experience in executive leadership in the Information Technology industry and shared her thoughts on the changing professions and needs of society. In addition, Dean Ronald L. Larsen was pleased to announce the winners of a number of Student Awards.

Margaret Mary Corbett Memorial Award — Robert Riter, PhD, LIS

Anthony Debons Award — Jonathan Adams, BSIS

Fritz Froehlich Award — Yuttasart Nitipaichit, PhD, Tele

Robert R. Korfhage Paper Award — Hassan Takabi, PhD, IS

Lancour, Immroth, Brewster Award — Reham Al-Issa, PhD, LIS

The Ofiesh Orner Award
                        First Place — Hammad Iqbal, PhD, Tele 
                        Second Place — Tingting Jiang, PhD, LIS
                        Third Place — Mark Voortman, PhD, IS

The Jennifer & Eric Spiegel Technology & Communications Essay
                        Award — Ryan Johnston, BSIS

The SLCP Student Award Finalists — Rachel Brehm, Maureen Carney,
                        Lindsay Downs, Dana Jones, Lauren Kubiak, Candace Smigla

The SLCP Award Winner — Rebecca Gray

Sara C. Cohen Award — Zachary Wilkerson, MLIS

Keynote Address by Leona Mitchell

List of Graduates