News / Biagini, Callery, and Detlefsen honored by WISE


Three iSchool faculty will be honored by the Web-based Information Science Education (WISE) consortium, a collaborative distance education model that increases the quality, access, and diversity of online education opportunities in Library and Information Science.  Professors Biagini, Callery, and Detlefsen have been nominated for the 2008 awards for “Excellence in Online Teaching, Best Practices.” The awards are given to faculty nominated by WISE students from institutions other than the faculty member's home institution. The Awards will be presented during the ALISE conference in January -- the  awardees will receive a crystal WISE globe to illustrate the global network of WISE consortium members and online students.

Dr. Biagini was nominated for this award by students who took her “Resources for Young Adults” class in Spring 2008. Her students noted that “her passion for working with young adults came across in many ways throughout the course, and it was clear that she keeps up with trends in the field.” Dr. Callery was nominated by WISE students in her “Museum Archives” course, offered in Summer 2008.  The nomination specifically noted that her “courses were extremely well designed, covering all aspects of the profession and presenting multiple points of view.” Dr. Detlefsen was nominated by students who took her “Health Sciences Resources and Services” course in Fall 2008, particularly for her efforts to be “aware of those of us who are virtual students, both mentioning our ‘presence’ to the class and including us with her style of lecturing.” 

Professors Biagini, Callery and Detlefsen are among the seven educators honored by this Excellence in Teaching Award, offered annually by the WISE consortium. The consortium has grown to 15 members and has offered over 200 courses to over 300 students since 2004. The consortium feels that it is important to honor best practices in online education with the WISE Faculty of the Year Awards given to faculty selected by students who have taken courses as part of the WISE consortium. 

The iSchool congratulates Mary Kay Biagini, Bernadette Callery, and Ellen Detlefsen!