SIS Students Garner Awards


The School of Information Sciences is pleased to note that several students and alumni have won national scholarships and awards sponsored by the Medical Library Association. The Medical Library Association (MLA) is a national organization for information professionals in the medical field. Each year, the MLA sponsors competitive programs to acknowledge outstanding research, professional leadership, and contributions to health sciences librarianship. These prestigious awards will be presented at the National MLA meeting, May 2006, in Phoenix.

Congratulations go to:

Christine Greipp, a current student in the MLIS program
Medical Library Association Scholarship

Ivonne Martinez, a current student in the FastTrack MLIS program and on the staff of the Georgetown University Medical Library
MLA Scholarship for Minority Students, Annual Meeting

Timothy P. Hogan, Alumni of the SIS Bachelor's Program and a Ph.D. candidate at the Graduate School of Library and Information Science, University of Illinois-Urbana-Champaign
Thomson Scientific/MLA Doctoral Fellowship

Janice Kelly, MLIS Alumni and on the staff of the Health Sciences and Human Services Library, University of Maryland, National Network of Libraries of Medicine, Southeastern/Atlantic Region, Baltimore, MD
MLA President's Award for 2006

Nunzia Bettinsoli Giuse, MD, MLIS alumni and on the staff at the Eskind Biomedical Library at Vanderbilt University
Will be inducted as a MLA Fellow at the 2006 annual MLA meeting

The School of Information Sciences is pleased to recognize these students and alumni for their honors and awards.