School of Information Sciences


The iSchool Celebrates Graduates at Spring 2015 Recognition Ceremony

On April 26, 2015, we recognized the 322 graduates of the University of Pittsburgh’s School of Information Sciences and honored their impressive achievements at the 2015 Recognition Ceremony. Dean Ronald L. Larsen led the day’s events, alongside department chairs Bob Perkoski, Peter Brusilovsky, David Tipper, and Sheila Corrall at the University of Pittsburgh’s Alumni Hall.

The keynote address was delivered by Dr. Alfred L. Moyé, who has very strong ties with the iSchool. Dr. Moyé is a Pitt Alumni (A&S ’68), he held positions as an Associate Professor of Chemistry, Dean of Students, and Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs here at Pitt, and he has served as a Pitt Trustee for ten years. He continues his service as an Emeritus Trustee and as the Chair of the School of Information Sciences Board of Visitors.

Dr. Moyé, who is now retired from his latest position as Director of University Affairs at the Hewlett-Packard Company, has likely influenced the education our graduates received in rather profound ways through his distinguished career in academia and in industry, and it was as honor to have him address our graduates.


The iSchool and the Alumni Society offer awards to recognize the academic and service excellence of our students. This year, 12 distinct awards and recognitions were administered to students who were chosen either through faculty nomination or by a selection panel based on work students themselves have submitted. The students honor with an award or recognition this year were:

Sarah C. Cohen Award

Margaret Mary Corbett Memorial Award

Anthony Debons Award

Ida Flynn Award

Fritz Froelich Award

Allen Kent Award

Lancour, Immroth, Brewster Award

Catherine Ofiesh Orner Award

School Library Certification Program Award

Jennifer and Eric Spiegel Technology & Communications Essay Award

Tung-Li and Hui-Hsi Yuan Family Scholarship

Five CNSS Certificates Achievement: 

The University of Pittsburgh has been designated a National Center of Academic Excellence in Information Assurance Education since 2003 and is one of only 20 centers in the United States with five Committee on National System Security (CNSS) certificates issued by the U.S. government and acknowledged by the National Security Agency (NSA) and the Department of Homeland Security (DHS).

The following eight graduates have achieved all five CNSS certifications: Brian D’Souza, honored as an MST graduate at this ceremony; Joseph Johnson, honored as an MSIS graduate at this ceremony; Sarah Kern, honored as an MSIS graduate at this ceremony; Donald McKeon, honored as an MSIS graduate at this ceremony; Kayla Mormak, honored as an MSIS graduate at this ceremony; Shauna Policicchio, honored as an MSIS graduate at this ceremony; Ajinkya Raut, honored as an MST graduate at this ceremony; Wenjia Song, honored as an MSIS graduate at this ceremony.

Congratulations to our graduates and award winners! We wish them all good luck and good fortune as they each embark on the next phase of their journey.

See photos from the ceremony at Alumni Hall on our Facebook page.

SIS News

SIS Faculty and students are leaders in the Information Professions. Their research, teaching, and projects are often newsworthy.